Skip to Content

MCC’s 21st Nurses’ Pinning Ceremony

In this section
Other News

MCC Offers its First “Kids College Experience”

Fort Morgan, CO. 05/20/16. Morgan Community College (MCC) invites incoming 8th through 10th graders to sign-up for the “Kids College Experience.” This is a free workshop offered at MCC’s Fort Morgan campus June 6 through the 9th from 8 a.m. until noon.

MCC Year-End Employee Recognition

Fort Morgan, CO. 5/17/16. Morgan Community College (MCC) administrators, staff and faculty recently gathered to celebrate the end of the school year, as well as to recognize the many accomplishments of the organization and its personnel.

Massage Therapy Classes to Start This Fall

Classes begin on Augusts 22, and will meet weekends, Friday evenings, and Saturdays during the fall at the Fort Morgan campus.
About MCC - MCC Info - Media Releases -  - MCC’s 21st Nurses’ Pinning Ceremony

May 09, 2012 at 10:54 AM

Fort Morgan, CO. 5/9/12.  Family and friends of Morgan Community College Nursing students packed the Fort Morgan Middle School Auditorium last Friday night for the 21st nurses’ pinning ceremony. Division Chair and Director of Nursing Education Kathy Frisbie began the evening with welcoming those in attendance and made introductions of faculty and administrative staff. Dr. Kerry Hart then addressed the 25 candidates having completed their Associate Degree in Nursing, as well as 28 first year students, who completed their certificate in Practical Nursing. He began the ceremony with a prompt, “To the world you might be one person, but to one person you might be the world.”

Students and guests were entertained and emotionally touched when Instructor Kim Ewertz first cited Dr. Seuss, then recited a poem. She emphasized how each student has made a lasting impression, and encouraged each to set their own path—with a final reminder to remember what’s it’s like to be a student. So that when they become a mentor, they can speak with kindness and understanding.

Stephanie Richmond reached the podium with great applause from her classmates. She spoke on behalf of the graduating class of nurses, offering fond memories and lessons learned. Richmond spoke of the nervousness when first starting and the excitement that comes with finishing; acknowledging the help of faculty, family and friends—all whom have made this dream a reality.

Special achievement awards were presented by nursing staff to both first and second year students in the following categories: Academic excellence was given to Chandra Henson-Myrick, first year and Suzanne Cable, second year. Overall clinical excellence was awarded to Alicia Flinn, first year and Jessica Staab, second year. Specific clinical awards were also distributed to Leslie Hirschfeld for OB/PEDS; Nicole Garrison for 2nd semester Med-Surge; Psychology went to Raelene Tate; Teryn Tobin and Stephanie Richmond tied on clinical tools, and were each awarded the Med-Surge for 4th semester; professional excellence went to Bob Border, first year and Mercy Falope, second year; and Francie Sagel, first year and Lynn Hesse, second year were recognized for their positive attitude.                   

Following the introduction of first year certificate candidates and traditional pinning of the second year degree candidates, Frisbie led the group in the Florence Nightingale Pledge recitation. The ceremony ended with a multimedia presentation of the nursing school journey.


First Year Students


Michaela Adle

Robert Border

Barbara Brophy-Parrish

Lori Coakley

Jennifer Duffy

Stadcie Eckhardt

McKenna Ferguson

Alicia Flinn

Crystle Forsythe

Pamela Gardner

Nicole Garrison

Chandra Henson-Myrick

Chrystal Ann Hile

Leslie Hirschfeld

Ashley Jensen

Jennifer Karczewski

Rebecca Mayer

Karla Mendoza

Whitney Peterson

Brandy Rogers

Johanna Sanchez

Stephen Schierenberg

Connie Stickley

Garrett Stuart

Crystal Sullivan

Carrie Turner

Melissa VanGorder

Sarah Zeller




Second Year Students


Hilary Bradley

Suzanne Cable

Chrystal Carrera

Barbara Dalstead

Amy Davidson

Mercy Falope

Lynn Hesse

Lauretta Iwula-McWilliams

Anna Medina

Tara Meza

Brooke McCombs

Laura McDaniel

Jolaine Ovilus

Callie Poitz

Jennifer Ramos

Stephanie Richmond

Christina Schatz

Stephanie Schommer

Kimberly Simpson

Jessica Staab

Raelene Tate

Teryn Tobin

Sara VanBenSchoten

Ashley Weston