Skip to Content

21st Nurses' Pinning Ceremony

In this section
Other News

Emergency Medical Services Education Offered at MCC

Fort Morgan, CO. 08/06/15. Morgan Community College Emergency Medical Services program offers Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) courses each fall and spring semester. Classes begin on August 20 at the Seibert Firehouse for the MCC Burlington Center, August 27 at the Fort Morgan campus, and September 7 for the MCC Limon Center.

Industrial Maintenance on MCC's Horizon

Fort Morgan, CO. 07/31/15. Morgan Community College (MCC) has recently formed a new advisory board for a proposed Associate of Science Degree in Industrial Maintenance Electrical/Mechanical. The advisory board would help decide which courses would be included in the degree, provide opportunities for internships, and act as advisors to the program.

MCC Announces Fall Scholarships

Fort Morgan, CO. 07/28/15. The Financial Aid Office at Morgan Community College (MCC) is pleased to announce the awarding of nearly $114,000 to 131* students through privately funded scholarships this fall. Individuals, organizations and foundations in the community have generously donated to the MCC Foundation to promote student success at MCC.
About MCC - MCC Info - Media Releases -  - 21st Nurses' Pinning Ceremony

May 09, 2012 at 11:01 AM

Fort Morgan, CO. 5/9/12.  Family and friends of Morgan Community College Nursing students packed the Fort Morgan Middle School Auditorium last Friday night for the 21st nurses’ pinning ceremony. Division Chair and Director of Nursing Education Kathy Frisbie began the evening with welcoming those in attendance and made introductions of faculty and administrative staff. Dr. Kerry Hart then addressed the 25 candidates having completed their Associate Degree in Nursing, as well as 28 first year students, who completed their certificate in Practical Nursing. He began the ceremony with a prompt, “To the world you might be one person, but to one person you might be the world.”

Students and guests were entertained and emotionally touched when Instructor Kim Ewertz first cited Dr. Seuss, then recited a poem. She emphasized how each student has made a lasting impression, and encouraged each to set their own path—with a final reminder to remember what’s it’s like to be a student. So that when they become a mentor, they can speak with kindness and understanding.

Stephanie Richmond reached the podium with great applause from her classmates. She spoke on behalf of the graduating class of nurses, offering fond memories and lessons learned. Richmond spoke of the nervousness when first starting and the excitement that comes with finishing; acknowledging the help of faculty, family and friends—all whom have made this dream a reality.

Special achievement awards were presented by nursing staff to both first and second year students in the following categories: Academic excellence was given to Chandra Henson-Myrick, first year and Suzanne Cable, second year. Overall clinical excellence was awarded to Alicia Flinn, first year and Jessica Staab, second year. Specific clinical awards were also distributed to Leslie Hirschfeld for OB/PEDS; Nicole Garrison for 2nd semester Med-Surge; Psychology went to Raelene Tate; Teryn Tobin and Stephanie Richmond tied on clinical tools, and were each awarded the Med-Surge for 4th semester; professional excellence went to Bob Border, first year and Mercy Falope, second year; and Francie Sagel, first year and Lynn Hesse, second year were recognized for their positive attitude.
Following the introduction of first year certificate candidates and traditional pinning of the second year degree candidates, Frisbie led the group in the Florence Nightingale Pledge recitation. The ceremony ended with a multimedia presentation of the nursing school journey.

First Year Students
Michaela Adle
Robert Border
Barbara Brophy-Parrish
Lori Coakley
Jennifer Duffy
Stadcie Eckhardt
McKenna Ferguson
Alicia Flinn
Crystle Forsythe
Pamela Gardner
Nicole Garrison
Chandra Henson-Myrick
Chrystal Ann Hile
Leslie Hirschfeld
Ashley Jensen
Jennifer Karczewski
Rebecca Mayer
Karla Mendoza
Whitney Peterson
Brandy Rogers
Johanna Sanchez
Stephen Schierenberg
Connie Stickley
Garrett Stuart
Crystal Sullivan
Carrie Turner
Melissa VanGorder
Sarah Zeller

Second Year Students
Hilary Bradley
Suzanne Cable
Chrystal Carrera
Barbara Dalstead
Amy Davidson
Mercy Falope
Lynn Hesse
Lauretta Iwula-McWilliams
Anna Medina
Tara Meza
Brooke McCombs
Laura McDaniel
Jolaine Ovilus
Callie Poitz
Jennifer Ramos
Stephanie Richmond
Christina Schatz
Stephanie Schommer
Kimberly Simpson
Jessica Staab
Raelene Tate
Teryn Tobin
Sara VanBenSchoten
Ashley Weston