March 20, 2024

MCC Foundation 25th Annual Gala Results

“It was a special night to celebrate twenty-five years of Galas and raise funds for student scholarships..."

The Morgan Community College (MCC) Foundation hosted its 25th annual Gala on February 23, 2024.  The Gala raised over $208,000 through raffle ticket sales; sponsorships; silent, live, and paddle auctions; other Gala activities, including a special 25th Anniversary Gala memento mug; and in-kind donations. The net proceeds, estimated at over $158,000, will be used to support MCC students by funding scholarships, programs, and new and innovative technology.

“It was a special night to celebrate twenty-five years of Galas and raise funds for student scholarships and instructional program needs at Morgan Community College. The evening was magical and the show of support from the community was outstanding,” stated Susan Clough, Director of Development.  “I must thank a committee of hard-working volunteers who spent months planning and executing the event and transforming the REA into a beautiful and festive space.  The sponsors, attendees, donors, buyers, and other volunteers made for a fabulous event raising the most funds of any previous Gala.  We can’t wait to see how we can top this in future years.”

Hosted by Morgan County REA for the third year, the venue was elegantly decorated in navy and silver with photos of MCC students on display.  The “Black Tie Plate” buffet dinner, dessert, snacks, and beverage vendors included Piggin’ Out BBQ and Hootenannies (Sterling), Eben Ezer Lutheran Care Center, Mosqueda Delicacies Ice Cream and More, The Beet Box-Brush High School Catering, Cover 4 Theatre, After Hours Cocktail Bar, and Village Liquor StoreJust Rustic provided a 7’ custom grazing board that was auctioned off early in the evening.  Auctioneer services were provided by Chuck Miller of Auctioneers Miller & Associates. Wayne Johnson and Lindsey Bruntz from Media Logic Radio were emcees for the evening. MCC Alumni in attendance were recognized and each received a gift, compliments of Furniture Mart.

“The twenty-fifth annual MCC Foundation Gala was a really big success,” stated MCC President, Dr. Curt Freed. “The generosity of our donors to help students achieve their dream is nothing short of amazing. The team at MCC has worked so hard to create a solid infrastructure to serve students, and the scholarship support provided through the Gala is what makes that magic happen. Thank you to our donors for the generous support of MCC students.”

At the onset of the event, the Back Alley Duo entertained guests, and a selfie station was set up for attendees to capture memorable moments. The reverse raffle’s $5,000 grand prize, sponsored by FMS Bank, was won by Briette Tormohlen. Participants also engaged in fun activities like a Balloon Pop and Heads & Tails, with prizes sponsored by Furniture Mart and Viaero Wireless. A special diamond necklace from Zimbelman’s Jewelry of Burlington, Colorado, was awarded to a fortunate attendee. The live auction featured a range of items including excursions, sports tickets, Sterling Silver beef strips from Cargill, and a custom-made quilt for the Gala, thanks to the sponsorship of CommonSpirit St. Elizabeth Hospital. Moreover, the Silent Auction saw Gala attendees vying for over fifty items, donated by a wide array of benefactors from the communities the college serves.

The MCC Foundation thanks the numerous sponsors who made the Gala possible. The 2024 Premier Sponsors were FMS Bank, CommonSpirit St. Elizabeth Hospital, and Morgan County REA.  The 2024 Platinum Sponsors included Allo Fiber, Cargill, CHFA, Evans Early Childhood Center, Furniture Mart, McDonald Toyota – Fort Morgan, Smirks, and Viaero Wireless.

Gold Sponsors included After Hours Cocktail Bar, Bank of Colorado – Fort Morgan/Brush, Building by Design, Christensen Ranch, Eben Ezer Lutheran Care Center, Edward Jones Investments – Tim Guggenmos, Golden Belt Bank, Just Rustic, Keith Bath Farms, Kinnon Entertainment & AnywhereCam, Les Schwab Tire Center, Lost Creek Guide, Piggin Out BBQ & Hootenannies, and Village Liquor Store.

The 2024 Silver Sponsors were Big Johnson Construction; Bob Staley’s Plumbing-Heating-Air; Body Firm Fitness Center; Brush Meat Processors; CannonDesign – Denver; Claremont Inn and Winery – Stratton; Colorado Cold Connect, East Morgan County Hospital/Banner Health; Donny & Melissa Edson; Equitable Savings & Loan – Brush; Farmers State Bank – Brush/Akron; Mark Frasier, Impressions by Bird; LPL Financial – Marci Wickham; Media Logic Radio (KFTM); Mosqueda Delicacies Ice Cream & More; Platte Valley Hearing Center; Premier Farm Credit; Marti & Russell Raad; STAR Athletic Club; Taylor Insurance Agency; and Zimbelman’s Jewelry – Burlington.

The 2024 Bronze Sponsors were 21st Century Equipment; Adriana Otero, Realtor; Best Western Plus Overland Inn; Rich & Susan Clough; Dr. Deborah & Douglas Coates; Coates Realty Group, LLC; Discover Rural; Gene & Jody Kind; HarmoniHealing Massage, Reiki, & Yoga; Jerry Harrel Insurance Agency – Burlington; High Plains Bank – Wiggins; Hitchcock, Inc. – Burlington; Leprino Foods; Kristin Lindsey Realtor; Northeast Colorado Broadcasting, LLC – KSIR/B106/KNAB; Tempel Grain Elevators – Wiley; Marc and Cindy Tormohlen; and Western Sugar Cooperative.

Many volunteers contributed to the success of the event, including committee members Susan Clough, Carrie Mobley, Kelly Rasmussen, Kim Maxwell, Adrianna Nickell, Jessica Edington, Ariella Gonzales-Vondy, Suzanna Spears, Mary Zorn, Marlene Funk, Holly Haman-Marcum, Mindy Centa, Robert Ingersoll, Maria Cardenas, Rosie Evans, Michael Bidwell, Chloe Hirschfeld, Cora Rhode, Cara Draegert, Vanessa Pursley, and Alea Crandall. Also volunteering were Betty McKie, Troy McKie, Danny & Sandy Engle, Lynelle Phillips, Amanda Czuprynski, Karen Rebol, Shelly Columbia, Julie Glenn, Wendy Danielson, Elise Gerken, Derek Gerken, Conner Gerken, MaKyle Mares, Juan Ayala, Evi Salgado, Sally Shawcroft, Shelli Crandall, Bill Miller, Carol Johnson, Lexi Ewertz and Fort Morgan High School Honor Society students. VIP Servers included Patti Lewis, Emily Eby, Candy Gettman, Ty Davies and Joe Rosenbrock.  A special thanks goes to Kinnon Entertainment; MCC Foundation Board members; MCC Health, Science and Technology Students; Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Students; the MCC Maintenance and Operations staff; and MCC IT staff. 

For more information about giving to the Morgan Community College Foundation, contact Susan Clough, Director of Development at (970) 542-3133 or [email protected], or visit the MCC Foundation website at